FROM LA TO LONDON – HOW TO KEEP UP WITH YOUR INNER BOHO CHILD

IMG_1614IMG_1661

IMG_1772

IMG_1771

IMG_1687

IMG_1763

IMG_1786

IMG_1782

IMG_1854

IMG_1815

Soft wool fabrics, navajo prints, tassels, sand tones and healthy smiles can be found around the world rather than just in LA when autumn arrives on our doorsteps. Actually, us Brits can probably pull the look off better now as we have dark nights approaching much earlier in the day with a cooler air circulating around us than the Californian beach babes do. They may smirk at us whilst tanning their toned bods mid September, but I smirk back at them just as easily. Why? Because nothing beats the cosy-warm feeling you gain when you slip on your new favoured Forever 21 cardigan. It’s like you’ve inherited a false set of arms that will hug you endlessly throughout the day. (Until you take photographs of it to show your fellow fashion community and fall over in the biggest waterfall around. Then you really have no choice but to be *hug-less*.) As we are quickly moving from light knitwear season into the necessity of fur lined coats *Winter – I am having as much fun with it as possible. Mixing thin knitted pieces both of an American and Spanish brand Forever 21 and PULL&BEAR with the standard soft denim of Calvin Klein and of course my suede staple ALDO sandals. Not to forget my newly favoured H&M real wool hat which in my opinion is the boldest most complimentary accessory of this ‘thrown together’ look.

Every-time I land back home in London after a trip to LA I feel so inspired. I can’t seem to get beach vibes out of my mind. I’m talking everything about the beach from the colours of the ocean itself to the bohemian styles of fashion as well as the quirky little bars along the beach front. Mingle it all together and before you know it, I realise that I’ve been hit with California Fever yet again. So, instead of allowing myself to dwell on my current location I find ways to brighten my mood. Ways that’ll leave me feeling as good as I did when my feet first met with the soft sand during my visit. For me, the easiest way to reconnect with a mood or tone I found myself entranced within is to relive the moment. Whether I watch videos from my favoured spots, eat the delicious cuisine or dress in a particular style… I find what’ll make me feel good and I do it as comfortably as I can back home.

That’s how this outfit was created. It’s simple, casual, comfortable. It represents many earth colours. The mood of the outfit is laid back, yet has a splash of colour through the blanket like cardigan to add vibrance. The different shades of browns, creams, beiges work well together as they still stand out rather than sinking into one another. I kept my makeup simple by working with nudes and shades of brown for my eyes which is my usual as well as keeping my hair simple. But let’s face it, when you have such thick coarse hair you don’t have much choice other than letting it be! (I am very envious of you lucky ladies who have non frizzy workable hair!) When it came to jewellery I kept it very basic. The featured rings were both gifted from Pandora and the birth-stone bracelet is from my all-time favourite online brand Shop Dixi. I would’ve loved to have smothered myself in extraordinary pieces from Shop Dixi but truth be told I have to limit every order I make from the website for fear of becoming an unauthorised owner!

HAT – H&M // CARDIGAN – FOREVER21 // KNITTED CROP TOP – PULL&BEAR // BLUE WASH JEANS – CALVIN KLIEN // BIEGE BAG – DOROTHY PERKINS // SANDALS – ALDO // JEWELLERY – PANDORA, SHOP DIXI

Please feel free to like or comment below!

You can also find other images related to this post on both my instagram/twitter account – @IshaKnight @KnightIsha

DISCLAIMER – ©

ALL IMAGES WERE TAKEN BY LUCIAN VOICULESCU

PLEASE DO NOT USE CONTENT WITHOUT CREDIT

Share your thoughts with me

